Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > General Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Motor replacement:Steer Me in the Right Direction

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-2022, 10:32 PM   #1

Default Motor replacement:Steer Me in the Right Direction

SCX10.3. Looking for a replacement for my stock 35T Brushed motor.
Im running the Hobbywing 1080 Quickrun esc on 3S. My Tranny is locked in Low gear and the stock motor moves the truck faster than I can comfortably walk, (a slow Jog) and thats fine for me. I dont need any more speed but I would like some more Crawling performance on the steep and difficult rocks that I find the most challenge on.

Im looking at the Holmes Hobbies Crawlemaster Sport series. But there is such a VARIETY of turns and two Sizes of Motors (540 & 550) 8 turns to 20 turns. Im a Noob crawler and I admit that Im kind of lost with so much Variety. Im thinking a 550 can, ( know it will fit)...I think it would help if I knew which of the HH motors are closest to my Stock motor performance, so I could make some sort of Comparison and choose an upgrade for my wants...... Otherwise Im just taking a wild guess as to which motor to get......Any guidance would be appreciated.......
Redharris is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-14-2022, 11:50 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Motor replacement:Steer Me in the Right Direction

A great resource is the Holmes Hobbies Motor Recommendations page:

https://holmeshobbies.com/motor-recommendations

Going by that chart, if you can wedge a 550 can in your chassis, it's a toss-up between the CrawlMaster Sport 550 15t (a bit slower than your motor) and the CrawlMaster Sport 550 13t (a bit faster).

This would be the case because the TrailMaster Sport 540 35t is the closest thing to a RTR 540 can 35t motor that Holmes makes. It's still likely better than your RTR motor, at least by a bit.