Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Vendors > Holmes Hobbies
Loading

Notices

Like Tree79Likes

Thread: HH Cobalt Puller- Reborn page 35!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2008, 05:00 PM   #81
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: 5280
Posts: 999
Default

Any idea on the lead time to get the 10T puller back in stock, or should I just run a 7T for now?
bustedcrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-20-2008, 05:04 PM   #82
owner, Holmes Hobbies LLC
 
JohnRobHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Volt up! Gear down!
Posts: 19,843
Default

You should probably just get the 7t for now. I was hoping to have them in stock within two weeks, but if I do that I won't be able to pay the bills until I sell off some inventory.
JohnRobHolmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 06:38 AM   #83
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Here
Posts: 7,316
Default

John,
Your PM's are full...I need to talk to ya...

John
Rckcrwlr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 05:18 PM   #84
Rock Crawler
 
bRIBEGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 807
Default

ACK!!!

Went to order up a 5t motor today, and they're OUT OF STOCK!!!!!!!!!!!

:( :( :(

I know this is a long shot, but any chance we'll be seeing these in the near future again?
bRIBEGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 07:58 PM   #85
owner, Holmes Hobbies LLC
 
JohnRobHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Volt up! Gear down!
Posts: 19,843
Default

You will be seeing them, but I need to sell more sidewinders to get cash back. Lots of inventory, no cash to buy more right now!
JohnRobHolmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 08:09 PM   #86
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montucky
Posts: 248
Default

As far as the 5T w/ MM, BEC, and Spektrum on 6 cell elites its a no go. It will run normal for 5 mins but after that.... The amp draw of the motor is to much and it is kicking my receiver into fail safe. Atleast that is what we figured out at Unimogers at the shop day. If im missing something JRH let me know. Im gonna tear my 6 cell packs apart and make an 8 cell to see if this helps. If not I guess its time for lipo.
cyberhog05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 08:41 PM   #87
Rock Crawler
 
bRIBEGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 807
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberhog05 View Post
As far as the 5T w/ MM, BEC, and Spektrum on 6 cell elites its a no go. It will run normal for 5 mins but after that.... The amp draw of the motor is to much and it is kicking my receiver into fail safe.
Now that seems odd...........and fairly disheartening since I was planning on running a 5T off a 6 cell pack (GP3300 or Elite 4500).


Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnRobHolmes View Post
You will be seeing them, but I need to sell more sidewinders to get cash back. Lots of inventory, no cash to buy more right now!
Hmmmmm...........maybe I should just drop a 4600KV Sidewinder into my Kyosho Blizzard! That should be good for a few giggles.......LOL. Actually, I would consider it, except I'm almost positive the ESC wouldn't fit under the body shell.
bRIBEGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 08:43 PM   #88
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montucky
Posts: 248
Default

Im using a split 6 cell elite1500's. You should be fine I would assume
cyberhog05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 08:52 PM   #89
Rock Crawler
 
bRIBEGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 807
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberhog05 View Post
Im using a split 6 cell elite1500's. You should be fine I would assume
Ahhh, that makes more sense...........
bRIBEGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 08:56 PM   #90
owner, Holmes Hobbies LLC
 
JohnRobHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Volt up! Gear down!
Posts: 19,843
Default

Cyberhog,

I replied to your email too. My guess is that the cells may be bad, but more voltage won't hurt any. If they are new, then the motor is in fact too much for the cells.
JohnRobHolmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 08:59 PM   #91
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montucky
Posts: 248
Default

Are you talking about the email from slobin3d? I havnt heard from him yet. It must be that the cells are much to small. I have 2 brand new packs and they both do the same thing. I am only getting 15 min run times also. Light on the throttle.
cyberhog05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 11:19 PM   #92
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montucky
Posts: 248
Default

so do you think I should bother trying 8 cells or just get into lipo? I put a axiom v10 in and it sucks compared to the cobalt. I knew it wouldnt be near as good but my god! Its like going from a geo 4cyl to a blowin doge charger! I cant deal with a loss like that!

Anybody who is thinking about getting one of the cobalts....Dont hesitate. you see one for sale BUY IT!
cyberhog05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 11:25 PM   #93
owner, Holmes Hobbies LLC
 
JohnRobHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Volt up! Gear down!
Posts: 19,843
Default

8 cells will give a better voltage, but you will still be beating on the cells pretty hard. A lipo would be good, you will hold a better average voltage. How much space do you have to work with?
JohnRobHolmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 11:28 PM   #94
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montucky
Posts: 248
Default

pretty much just have my front axle to work with
cyberhog05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 11:29 PM   #95
owner, Holmes Hobbies LLC
 
JohnRobHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Volt up! Gear down!
Posts: 19,843
Default

See if this is too big:

http://holmeshobbies.com/product.php...&cat=10&page=1

I have some better cells on the way too. Lower mah, same size, better burst.
JohnRobHolmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 11:35 PM   #96
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montucky
Posts: 248
Default

that would be pushing it! I am going to have to make a new servo bracket and get my servo moved over to accomidate a lipo. Ill make one tonight and see what exact room I will have. I think for the sake of my mental stability I might as well go the lipo route. I cant find a way to get around it. I have to run the cobalt now that I have seen it run. And it wasnt to its full potential. Thats the great part. Thanks Mr. Holmes
cyberhog05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 11:38 PM   #97
owner, Holmes Hobbies LLC
 
JohnRobHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Volt up! Gear down!
Posts: 19,843
Default

You could also try putting two of your packs in parallel to see if it helps, just as a test.
JohnRobHolmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 11:41 PM   #98
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montucky
Posts: 248
Default

Ahhh make it 12 cell! I am not by any means good with electronics. running it parallel do I just put the two red together and the two blacks together. Basically connect the leads?
cyberhog05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 11:44 PM   #99
owner, Holmes Hobbies LLC
 
JohnRobHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Volt up! Gear down!
Posts: 19,843
Default

Yep, blacks with blacks, red with red. It will be 6 cells voltage, but twice the amperage available. Runtime may not be double since the motor may take more amperage.
JohnRobHolmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 11:45 PM   #100
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montucky
Posts: 248
Default

I will give it a shot! thanks again
cyberhog05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



HH Cobalt Puller- Reborn page 35! - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R1 + Cobalt Puller Highlucks G-Made Crawlers 3 05-31-2010 09:38 PM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com