Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: First post, total Newbie

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2015, 11:38 PM   #1

Default First post, total Newbie

Been into RC since I was a kid. Unfortunately I'm far from a kid according to the biological clock. However I'm still a kid at heart and still enjoy RC. I've raced paved oval, carpet, and dirt oval. Flown quads, helis, and winged. However this crawling thing is something I can't seem to get out of my head. LOL! Seriously it really appeals to me and I like the scale and realism aspect of it. I'd like to get my 9 year old stepdaughter involved as well, as she seems interested. I've been lurking around the forum for quite some time now and we've watched countless videos, looked at build pics, rig pics, tire pics, suspension, different platforms.......well you get the idea. Due to my limited time to devote to a build I'm considering an RTR despite my norm of wanting to complete each task involved in the build. I would like to get together with other people, but can't devote enough time, money, and effort to comp crawl. I am the kind of person if I do something I do it right. I think scale is for me and I find it most interesting as a newbie. I'm leaning toward the SCX10 platform and really like what I see from Axial. Guess I'm asking ya'll what you think about that route? I want to upgrade as I get battery burn time, as I've been there and done that with racing and it worked best. I'd like to start my 9 year old off with something entry level of course but not junk. We all know how quickly you can get burned out on junk. Glad there is a newbie forum here. Thanks for the advice.
jmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-20-2015, 07:33 AM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: First post, total Newbie

First off welcome to the madness.