Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Axial AE-5 problems

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2015, 07:52 PM   #1

Default Axial AE-5 problems

Hello All,

I am new to crawlers and finished building a Wraith kit. I was doing some test runs with the electronics before I start buttoning things up but I ran into a problem.

When I hit the throttle on the Wraith after 15-20 seconds the brakes kick on. I know the AE-5 has a drag brake but I am still on the throttle when this happens. It hits so hard that it endo's if I am on pavement. This happens at high and low speeds and will even happen if I pick it up off the ground. It's like the throttle cuts out and the brakes kick in after a few seconds.

I did some testing of the ground I applied some light throttle and flipped the wheels back and forth. When the throttle cut out I did not lose steering. It doesn't look like the AE-5 has much in the way of programming options. Does anyone have any ideas what could cause this? Any help is greatly appreciated.

I am running the AE-5 with an HPI Firebolt 15t, 20t pinion and a 10a castle BEC.
Burniefloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-03-2015, 11:12 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: Axial AE-5 problems

What kind of batteries are you running? Sounds like it could be the lipo cut off kicking in.
hatefulboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2015, 11:31 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave

If you dig on the forum a bit there are a few pages that talk about that exact problem. If I find the link I'll post it. I had the same problem I'm trying to remember what fixed it. If my memory serves me I had a metal shaving in the space where the lipo nihm 50 100 pins are, my servo failed the same time.
snapon boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2015, 11:48 PM   #4
RCC Addict