Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Newbie Battery Question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2018, 05:00 PM   #1

Default Newbie Battery Question

Hi guys i am new to the crawling side of the hobby, i coming from the on road racing side and was looking for your guys recommendations. I have ordered a scx10 ii kit and along with a hobbywing quicrun 1080 esc and a 35t brushed motor. I was wondering what most of you would run for a lipo either 2 or 3 cell. Cheers
Luke
luke8603 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-01-2018, 05:59 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: Newbie Battery Question

Once you go 3S you never go back XD

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
MasteroFlego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 06:12 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave

I'll agree with the above statement wholeheartedly...

The "trial" 2S I bought for my Ascender is just sitting there, waiting for me to pick up a cheap onroad kit or something...

You can always gear down a tad if it's too fast, but you risk issues with your entire electronics system if you gear up because it's too slow on 2S.

As they say - Volt up, gear down!
durok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 07:10 PM   #4

Thanks for the replys guys, 3s it is
Old 04-02-2018, 01:44 PM   #5
RCC Addict

I always run a 3s with 35t motors, been doing it for years now. I use the smaller 3s packs to keep the weight down. I was running Venom #1577 packs, but have been running these #25077 packs since thats what my LHS has been carrying. These are 30c which is plenty and have a couple different connectors in the package. (XT60 , EC3 & Deans)

HDMM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 08:30 PM   #6
I wanna be Dave

That is the same battery I use as well. I get about an hour to hour and a half of trail running per pack in my stockish Honcho. Stock electronics...

Btw xt 60 connectors the hw 1080 come with are great.