Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Wraith
Loading

Notices

Thread: Servo clearance

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2017, 06:44 AM   #1
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Deep in the Everglades
Posts: 5,782
Default Servo clearance

Looking for experience here ..... wondering if I can safely remove the bracing above the servo. I've installed long shocks, extended the mounts, now looking for full travel.


If I soften things a bit more, the front will be able to drop a tad.



Hang up and Drive
mikemcE is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-29-2017, 08:19 AM   #2
RCC Addict
 
altd896's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Forrestfield, Western Australia
Posts: 1,082
Default Re: Servo clearance

Yes you could cut some of that brace out to clear the servo.
I'll point out however your brace is actually in back to front.
Could also remove it completely & just add a straight spreader/brace across like I have across the shock upper mounts.
Attached Images
  
altd896 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 08:55 AM   #3
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Deep in the Everglades
Posts: 5,782
Default Re: Servo clearance

Thanks !! I got this used and didn't put that in, but now you mention it , it's backwards. I'm planning on a couple of stretcher bars to stiffen the shocks anyways, like yours.


Hang up and Drive
mikemcE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 10:43 AM   #4
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: The Angels
Posts: 433
Default Re: Servo clearance

You might also consider raising the upoer mounts. I shaved down my GearHead droop tabs so I didnt even have to cut the hood. Take advantage of that extra travel to go upward, not down...
DeviledEggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 10:48 AM   #5
Wanna get? Gotta want.
 
Erik D_lux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 7,052
Default Re: Servo clearance

Or, you could just drop the servo and add in a whole lot of other benefits while youre at it.

https://dluxfab.ecwid.com/#!/AR60-Wr...unt/p/29404646
Attached Images
 
Erik D_lux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 10:52 AM   #6
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: .
Posts: 7,967
Default Re: Servo clearance

Servo De-wangers for the Wraith
ROWDY RACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 11:17 AM   #7
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Deep in the Everglades
Posts: 5,782
Default Re: Servo clearance

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeviledEggs View Post
You might also consider raising the upoer mounts. I shaved down my GearHead droop tabs so I didnt even have to cut the hood. Take advantage of that extra travel to go upward, not down...



Like this ? I wanted lots of shock front and back, so they went up 32mm each




Hang up and Drive
mikemcE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 11:20 AM   #8
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Deep in the Everglades
Posts: 5,782
Default Re: Servo clearance

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erik D_lux View Post
Or, you could just drop the servo and add in a whole lot of other benefits while youre at it.



https://dluxfab.ecwid.com/#!/AR60-Wr...unt/p/29404646


I like the idea, you enabler !
Do I need a different tie rod with wraith knuckles?
I see both alum and CF.... splain the difference and benefits ?


Hang up and Drive
mikemcE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 11:53 AM   #9
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: The Angels
Posts: 433
Default Re: Servo clearance

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemcE View Post
Like this ? I wanted lots of shock front and back, so they went up 32mm each




Hang up and Drive
Uh, yep. Just like that.
DeviledEggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 12:21 PM   #10
Wanna get? Gotta want.
 
Erik D_lux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 7,052
Default Re: Servo clearance

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemcE View Post
I like the idea, you enabler !
Do I need a different tie rod with wraith knuckles?
I see both alum and CF.... splain the difference and benefits ?


Hang up and Drive
Not a different tie rod but you would need a different drag link.

The U4 truss only comes in aluminum these days. Thats the one you want.
Erik D_lux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 05:00 PM   #11
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Deep in the Everglades
Posts: 5,782
Default Servo clearance

altd896 you are the man!!
Big thanks, I still trimmed a bit out, but installing correctly worked !
Now with double blues I'm close, may need a sway bar time will tell.
But I now have plushness !





Hang up and Drive

Last edited by mikemcE; 03-29-2017 at 06:10 PM.
mikemcE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 07:19 PM   #12
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Paulina
Posts: 1,213
Default Re: Servo clearance

Couple days early for #flexfriday

But damn that Dlux truss looks great!
calcagno45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 08:28 PM   #13
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tri-cities, WA
Posts: 4,804
Default Re: Servo clearance

Quote:
Originally Posted by calcagno45 View Post
Couple days early for #flexfriday

But damn that Dlux truss looks great!
Oh gawd #flexFriday is damned near embarrassing on the axial page.

I have dlux trusses on all my rigs for a reason. We'll a reason other than we've known each other for 15 years.
WHITE-TRASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2017, 11:51 AM   #14
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tri-cities, WA
Posts: 4,804
Default Re: Servo clearance

.]



Spill it, who whined about what? Come on, stop holding out on me!

Last edited by THX_138; 04-03-2017 at 02:45 PM.
WHITE-TRASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2017, 02:45 PM   #15
MODERATOR
 
THX_138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: RC Land
Posts: 3,184
Default Re: Servo clearance

I had a misfire in the wrong thread.
THX_138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2017, 03:13 PM   #16
MODERATOR™
 
EeePee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 18,928
Default Re: Servo clearance

It's convenient you can edit other people's threads isn't it?
EeePee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2017, 08:12 PM   #17
MODERATOR
 
THX_138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: RC Land
Posts: 3,184
Default Re: Servo clearance

Quote:
Originally Posted by EeePee View Post
It's convenient you can edit other people's threads isn't it?
Was completely in the wrong place and figured it was better then deleting his whole comment. At least this way he knows it's my stupidity and mistake and nothing he did wrong.
THX_138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Servo clearance - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Servo clearance? Beej Axial Wraith 6 10-29-2017 03:55 PM
Servo horn clearance problem Sebgaut01 Axial SCX10 II 21 02-12-2017 08:49 PM
Servo horn clearance shiftauto Axial SCX10 II 14 07-21-2016 03:45 PM
servo clearance?? tweak6 RC4WD Bully 4 11-22-2013 06:32 AM
Clearance issue-servo and box 07trd4x4 Axial SCX-10 6 03-14-2012 07:02 PM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com