Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: Modding a PC Power Supply into a 12 Volt Supply for your DC charger

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2011, 11:03 PM   #81
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: scranton
Posts: 153
Default

SO.. does this charges the battery's? like say i have a 7.2v packs can you just hook up say 10v from this to charge them or is this only to get 12v and people are using 12v(car)chargers to charge there battery? if thats the case is-ant there 120v ad to 12v dc adapters cheaper ? any clarification is appreciated thanks
xiteamxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-22-2011, 06:24 AM   #82
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: 07456 N. NJ USofA
Posts: 8,315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xiteamxi View Post
SO.. does this charge the batteries? Say I have 7.2v packs, can you just hook up the 10v from this to charge them? Or is this only to get 12v and people are using 12v(car)chargers to charge thier battery? If thats the case, isn't there 120v AC to 12v DC adapters cheaper? Any clarification is appreciated, thanks
It "could" be used to charge batteries, but you have no good way to regulate the current (amps) nor is there a way to stop the charge when the pack is full.
This thread is how to make a regulated 12VDC power supply for use with battery chargers, dischargers, etc.
A good 30A+ DC power supply can be over $100, this mod can be done for a few dollars.
My battery charger is dual input, I can charge froma 120VAC wall outlet or a 12VDC battery/power supply.
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 08:39 AM   #83
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: nunya dambidness
Posts: 150
Default

So in theory I could hook my leads up to the 12+ and 12- ports on my modded power supply and it would be the same as hooking it to a car battery? Or no? Electronics confuse me
98sahara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 05:48 PM   #84
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: 07456 N. NJ USofA
Posts: 8,315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 98sahara View Post
So in theory I could hook my leads up to the 12+ and 12- ports on my modded power supply and it would be the same as hooking it to a car battery? Or no? Electronics confuse me
I would double check the voltage with a meter first, but yes, it would work like a car battery, only it will be more stable.
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 07:25 PM   #85
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: nunya dambidness
Posts: 150
Default

Ok haha ill do that thanks
98sahara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 06:45 PM   #86
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: 07456 N. NJ USofA
Posts: 8,315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 98sahara View Post
Ok, haha, I'll do that, thanks
Soooo....any progress??
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 02:47 PM   #87
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: nunya dambidness
Posts: 150
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie-III View Post
Soooo....any progress??

haha well...... i put my multimeter leads to the 12v+ and the 12v- to test it and it just shut off??? soooo im not sure what happened ill prolly just make another one unless someone knows why it did that.
98sahara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 10:28 PM   #88
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Huntington Beach
Posts: 9
Default

If you put your meter across the +12v and the -12v you will get 24 volts!! If your meter was not set for checking voltage, it would shut off the PS.

+12 to ground should give you +12v -12v to ground should give you -12v

Paul
PaulSR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 02:25 PM   #89
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: nunya dambidness
Posts: 150
Default

So why won't it turn back on then is it fried??? Or is there a built in safety u can reset
98sahara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 05:00 PM   #90
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: 07456 N. NJ USofA
Posts: 8,315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 98sahara View Post
So why won't it turn back on then is it fried??? Or is there a built in safety u can reset
They normally either reset, or clear a fuse.
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 07:44 AM   #91
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: nunya dambidness
Posts: 150
Default

Talking about the power supply right. Just want to be on the same page
98sahara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 05:03 PM   #92
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: 07456 N. NJ USofA
Posts: 8,315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 98sahara View Post
Talking about the power supply right. Just want to be on the same page
Same library, same aisle, same shelf, same book......same page......
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 01:28 AM   #93
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Huntington Beach
Posts: 9
Default

If you have a PS that has 2 wires shorted together to turn it on (as well as a power switch) try disconnecting the 2 wires, then turn on the power, then connect the 2 wires.

The other option is a blown fuse inside the PS.

Paul
PaulSR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 01:16 PM   #94
Ola
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 78
Default Re: Modding a PC Power Supply into a 12 Volt Supply for your DC charger

I just converted 2x HP DL380g4 575 Watt PSU`s, and run them in serial Based on descriptions on rcgroups..

Now they run bump`d up to 27v total, and still should be able to push it`s 47A max amps..

That should do the job feeding my Powerlab PL8 when it gets here
Ola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 12:04 PM   #95
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Connersville
Posts: 42
Default Re: Modding a PC Power Supply into a 12 Volt Supply for your DC charger

I used a power supply from a lap top. It works great.
bowtieuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 06:01 PM   #96
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: 07456 N. NJ USofA
Posts: 8,315
Default Re: Modding a PC Power Supply into a 12 Volt Supply for your DC charger

Quote:
Originally Posted by bowtieuser View Post
I used a power supply from a laptop. It works great.
While that may work, they are usually 8A max, sometimes even less. Not quite sure what the output waveform is like.
Hey, if you're happy, then I'm happy.
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 09:31 PM   #97
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kansas city
Posts: 223
Default Re: Modding a PC Power Supply into a 12 Volt Supply for your DC charger

Anybody use a Delta electronics model dps-300pb-3b? It says max power is 300 watts, and the +12v is 18a.
scaryclownguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 02:10 PM   #98
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nanaimo, BC (Vancouver Island)
Posts: 1,153
Default Re: Modding a PC Power Supply into a 12 Volt Supply for your DC charger

Hoping someone can shed some light here, I have a 660w power supply that I want to use for my build, its a very heavy duty unit that came from a gaming tower a friend gave me. I can post a picture of the specs but I'm not in front of it atm. My question is that I know I should use a 10ohm 10watt resistor but I can only get 12ohm 10watt units from my supplier. Do you think or can you tell me how much of a voltage drop having 2 extra ohms can cause? I have to special order these and only want to do it once or it will set me back a month waiting on parts. Thanks for the input guys

edit: specs are Enermax atx ges, model# eg851ax-vh(w)
+3.3v 38a 240w
+5v 42a 240w
+12V1 14a 480w
+12v2 18a 480w
+12v3 16a 480w
+12v4 14a 480w
-12v .8a 9.6w
+5vsb 2.7a 13.5w

im guessing there are 4 bars in this ps? do I wire them seperatly to there own 12v output or can they be bundled together to get the most amperage possible?

Last edited by kurtus; 01-05-2012 at 02:49 PM.
kurtus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 05:05 PM   #99
Rock Crawler
 
The CrAwLL BLACK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 501
Default Re: Modding a PC Power Supply into a 12 Volt Supply for your DC charger

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heavy View Post
Here's my problem. I had a wire coming off the pcboard labled "usb" so I taped if off and ordered a usb jack. Today the jack came in. I found a pinout online. 4 pins, from left to right, pin1 is your positive, pin 4 is your ground. 5.16 volts coming off the board.

Everything checks out, BUT, When I plug my phone in it doesn't recognize a charger. Is there something you are supposed to do with the other 2 pins on the jack to "tell" the phone it's hooked to a charging source?

Heavy
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeyRiver View Post
I posed that question on another forum and one respondent seems to think it needs data to charge. I sorta question that as phones charge on car adapters, so where's data there?
My solution would be to use a powered hub, screw it to the top and run it from a 5v lead.
From what I've read, you just short the other two pins together on the USB jack (pins 2 & 3).

Source = USB pinout and wiring @ pinouts.ru

Once I've finished modding my PSU I'll be testing the USB charging on my phone.

Cheers,
Mike
The CrAwLL BLACK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 03:08 PM   #100
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nanaimo, BC (Vancouver Island)
Posts: 1,153
Default Re: Modding a PC Power Supply into a 12 Volt Supply for your DC charger

Quote:
Originally Posted by RcBro View Post
I just did this mod to a power supply. All the outputs show correct voltage. But once I hook a lathe to the outputs the power supply shuts off. Any ideas?
Quote:
Originally Posted by RcBro View Post
I ended up finding out that mine would only work if I left it off, plugged in my desired electronics then turned it on.

I assume my resistor is not pulling enough wasted energy for the PS to see a drain. For now it works, I may fix it later.
Have you ever found a solution here? I saw that one guy posted that most ps will do this but a number of guys I've asked are able to connect their devices while the ps is powered on without it tripping into protection. What brand is your ps?

Does anyone know if there is a fix because it will be rather annoying when I'm in the middle of a charge and someone wants to add their charger to my ps to charge their batteries and I loose the mah info on the balance charge I'm currently doing.

Thanks Kurt
kurtus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/electronics/163458-modding-pc-power-supply-into-12-volt-supply-your-dc-charger.html
Posted By For Type Date
Using a Computer Power Supply To Run a Charger - R/C Tech Forums This thread Refback 10-05-2011 05:49 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com