Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: Yes, another one: BEC to HV Servo Wiring

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2015, 11:45 AM   #1
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,319
Default Yes, another one: BEC to HV Servo Wiring

I want to put this out for anyone that is thinking of running their steering servo at a voltage that is higher than your ESC's normal internal BEC voltage.

Put another way, if you are planning on feeding your steering servo with more than six volts, this is my suggested way to do it:



Sending power to your steering servo in this manner ensures that only the servo gets the BEC output. This means that the ESC's internal BEC can run the light loads that are normally present on the receiver and not over-stress them by feeding them more than six volts (this is assuming that the ESC's BEC is not set higher than six volts).

Last edited by heyok; 07-22-2017 at 07:59 AM. Reason: Photobucket support over, switching to imgur
heyok is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-02-2015, 02:02 PM   #2
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Turn the mayflower around.. it will never work
Posts: 1,589
Default Re: Yes, another one: BEC to HV Servo Wiring

Awesome al, glad for it to be posted with pictures since its asked a min of once a week.

Also should be said a bypass adapter can be used to keep from cutting wires and all grounds together for spektrum radios.
JokersWild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 02:04 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,319
Default Re: Yes, another one: BEC to HV Servo Wiring

Quote:
Originally Posted by JokersWild View Post
Awesome al, glad for it to be posted with pictures since its asked a min of once a week.

Also should be said a bypass adapter can be used to keep from cutting wires and all grounds together for spektrum radios.
Yes!

Or,

No Brainer BEC


Last edited by heyok; 07-22-2017 at 08:01 AM.
heyok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 02:19 PM   #4
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Turn the mayflower around.. it will never work
Posts: 1,589
Default Re: Yes, another one: BEC to HV Servo Wiring

Damn, see, I always forget you make tha al!
JokersWild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 08:06 AM   #5
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Williston, ND
Posts: 109
Default Re: Yes, another one: BEC to HV Servo Wiring

I had an issues cutting the ground from receiver to servo when I made up my harness. An occasional jerk in the servo, independent of load. I re-did my adapter to make sure all grounds were connected and it cleaned it up. Could have very well been because of my set up, lots of crammed wires together. Not exactly RF friendly.
Brainanator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 08:46 AM   #6
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,319
Default Re: Yes, another one: BEC to HV Servo Wiring

Even though there is a path from the negative of the receiver to the negative of the servo through the BEC, sometimes you need to do a run directly from the receiver to the servo. RF can do funny things. Glad you found a way to make it work!
heyok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2015, 01:17 AM   #7
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,785
Default Re: Yes, another one: BEC to HV Servo Wiring

On the wiring diagram you miss one detail present on the No Brainer BEC: The black wire between servo and Rx.
In theory it's not required, but it's very handy to have there to assure proper signal strength!
Olle P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2015, 06:06 AM   #8
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,319
Default Re: Yes, another one: BEC to HV Servo Wiring

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olle P View Post
On the wiring diagram you miss one detail present on the No Brainer BEC: The black wire between servo and Rx.
In theory it's not required, but it's very handy to have there to assure proper signal strength!
This goes back to the RF noise thing.
Yes, I didn't show it in the drawing. Maybe I will add it.
It actually introduces a ground loop, that's why I left it out of the drawing. As you point out, I do have that connection in the No Brainer as I found it works best that way.
heyok is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Yes, another one: BEC to HV Servo Wiring - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring bec/servo/esc toby5240 Electronics 15 01-10-2016 10:39 PM
Wiring BEC to Servo benmara Newbie General 3 11-09-2012 02:35 PM
Wiring Help\Question ESC,RX,Servo,BEC mnickolson Electronics 2 06-27-2012 10:47 AM
Wiring Bec directly to servo xj_man_646 Newbie General 5 03-13-2010 02:18 PM
cc bec to servo wiring timo992001 Electronics 3 03-24-2009 08:53 PM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com