Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: 30t vs 45t?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2018, 10:36 AM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default 30t vs 45t?

I sold my crawlers 2 years ago. I regret it and now I'm rebuilding my herd.
My old Wraith had a Holmes 45t (I think torquemaster). It was a crawl machine! It'd go up and over anything. I had it geared almost as low as possible. Top speed was slower than I would walk.
I'd like to get back to where i was. I have an opportunity for a good deal on a Torquemaster 30t. How much difference between a 30 and 45? Assuming I gear it way down. Can I get similar torque?
Bansh88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-07-2018, 03:43 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: 30t vs 45t?

I'm not an expert on motors, but my understanding is the 30t would have a little more torque than the 45t if geared the same. It would also have a noticeably faster top speed.
Smokin' Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 05:56 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

As I know it: more turns = more torque, slower speed.
Old 07-07-2018, 05:59 PM   #4
Rock Stacker

More turns equals more torque. Lower turns equals more speed.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk
ADlBOO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 06:34 PM   #5
RCC Addict

I just think, Heavy rig need more torque than lighten one?
Teng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 06:48 PM   #6
Rock Stacker

Just installed the Tekin 40T on my wife's 8lb 12.3. Jeep. More of a crawler rig than anything. Had the 27T too much speed for her liking. So far it's been working GREAT!!! Good wheel speed when needed, low-end grunt to muscle it through the thick stuff.
BAD RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 07:39 PM   #7
Quarry Creeper