Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > Large Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: 1/6 scale rock racer

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2008, 07:23 PM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default 1/6 scale rock racer

Well i guess it is time to start my build thread. I am building a 1/6 scale campbell rock racer. I am basing the chassis on the 2008 rock racing chassis. Ecoli will have a big part in bringing the chassis to life. I am going to make it as scale as possible but some modifications will be made to addapt it to an rc version.

So here we go:

I started of with some aluminum maxx difs. I know you are all thinking that this is not the best way to start a scale biuld. The reason that I did it this way is because that since this is my first build, I wanted to make most of the parts myself and the maxx diffs seemed to be the best way. Plus this was going to be a big build and I could cusomise them as I needed.
I then proceded to building some axel tubes. Used 1/4 thick plate aluminum and machined a hole with a ledge in it to get the diff to fit snug. I then drilled and taped some 6/23 holes and countersunk the allen heads. I decided to use some 1" tube. I had some 3/4" tube but it was to thin and the 1" looked to be a better choice, more "BEEF". Kept the tubes strait for a more scale aperance. Then I made the brackets for the steering nuckles to bolt to. I am using a set of used aluminum steering knuckles. I thought about macining some custom ones, but that may be a future add on. I am also using a set of long cvd's to achive the width that I need. Again I will probably make my own but these will work fot building and testing. I made some lower link mounts and had the whole got welded together.