Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Traxxas TRX-4

Notices

Thread: First Crawler Build Jeep TRX-4 (Pic Heavy)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2024, 01:17 PM   #1

Default First Crawler Build Jeep TRX-4 (Pic Heavy)

So I've been wanting a crawler for awhile now and I finally made the jump over Christmas. After a ton of research I decided on a TRX-4 after all my first RC was a Traxxas Hawk back in the early 90's. I wanted a jeep body so I decided on the sport kit (with a 12.8 conversion) with a Proline Rubicon body. I was excited about putting the kit together after all I'm a aircraft mechanic and have put other RC's together but I was a little nervous over painting and making a decent looking realistic body. Electronics I went with a HH SHV650 servo for steering, a Flysky NB4 for radio and Flysky FGr8B for the receiver for possible expansion. Motor I was set on a HH Crawlmaster sport with a HW1080 but at the last minute decided to go with the Fusion SE 1800kv and I couldn't be happier. I did change the pinion and spur over to an 11t and 45t to maximize the low speed control (which made a big difference). I went a little over board and bought a set of PL KM3's, a set of PL Krawlers, a set of Pitbull Rock Beast XL's, in addition to the stock tires because why not. I went with Injora beadlocks they looked good and the price was right. Added the narrow fenders to the truck in hopes that it would protect the inside from getting so dirty along with some bits from Ali-Express for the body. Overall I'm very satisfied with the result and I took some pics on its madden voyage outside in the front yard before it gets beat up.

Gtoboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-11-2024, 02:07 PM   #2

Default Re: First Crawler Build Jeep TRX-4 (Pic Heavy)