Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Wraith
Loading

Notices

Thread: Choosing a motor and ESC for your Wraith - Gearing Added!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2011, 12:44 PM   #101
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,882
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trailertruck View Post
Question can the stock axial ESC AE-2 handle a 11 turn cobalt or is it limited to all 20 turn motors thank you.
I can't recall what the draw of the cobalt was. They were very amp hungry though. I would be skeptical. Also I'm not sure that a cobalt will fit.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-17-2011, 12:53 PM   #102
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Portland
Posts: 2
Default

Thank you,it does fit but I don't want to smoke anything.
trailertruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 02:53 PM   #103
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pelham
Posts: 26
Default

@HARLEY - What exactly does a BEC do? Please tell me like a 10yo. I don't understand a whole lot about electronics.

(crazy how I bought an electric RC car)
dAng! XJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 03:11 PM   #104
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,882
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dAng! XJ View Post
@HARLEY - What exactly does a BEC do? Please tell me like a 10yo. I don't understand a whole lot about electronics.

(crazy how I bought an electric RC car)
Think of it kind of like an alternator. It supply's the power to your servo. The "stock alternator" inside an ESC (99% off all ESC's have a small BEC inside them) just can't power stronger servos.

The other problem is when you go up in voltage. When you plug a 3S lipo into an ESC the BEC inside reduces the amount of amperage it can put out. So even the stock servo can pull too much power of you go up in voltage on the stock electronics.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 04:52 PM   #105
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Land of earthquakes
Posts: 462
Default

I burnt my motor and esc, i have a hard time trying to figure out the best option, i also have two lipo 2s batteries and want to be able to use them. Also i want it as a crawler but also i don't want to loose the top speed it has stock because in the place we play the ground is very soft and it needs some wheelspin to get the job done, and also i believe the stock gearing is adecuate for the crawling i do, any suggestions on motor and ESC?
Pabust is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 04:53 PM   #106
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,882
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pabust View Post
I burnt my motor and esc, i have a hard time trying to figure out the best option, i also have two lipo 2s batteries and want to be able to use them. Also i want it as a crawler but also i don't want to loose the top speed it has stock because in the place we play the ground is very soft and it needs some wheelspin to get the job done, and also i believe the stock gearing is adecuate for the crawling i do, any suggestions on motor and ESC?
Post number 2 pretty much covers it.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 05:15 PM   #107
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Land of earthquakes
Posts: 462
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harley View Post
Post number 2 pretty much covers it.
What about the stock ratios with the Tekin 13.5, will it work ok?
Pabust is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 05:54 PM   #108
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 292
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pabust View Post
What about the stock ratios with the Tekin 13.5, will it work ok?
The stock ratio is going to be pretty fast with the Tekin 13.5T, and may not give you the low end control you want.

I just put in the Tekin 13.5T with 32P 56/12 ratio, it crawls very well, and on 3s lipos, is almost twice as fast as the stock 20T motor. On 2s Lipos, I bet it would still be faster than the stock motor.

Last edited by Stburr91; 11-17-2011 at 06:07 PM.
Stburr91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 06:32 PM   #109
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Land of earthquakes
Posts: 462
Default

That ratio is the ring/pinion ratio or the gear/spur ratio? sorry, newbie on this.
Where did you buy those gear/spur/ring & pinion parts?
Pabust is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 06:49 PM   #110
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 292
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pabust View Post
That ratio is the ring/pinion ratio or the gear/spur ratio? sorry, newbie on this.
Where did you buy those gear/spur/ring & pinion parts?
It is the spur and motor pinion ratio.

I got mine at Tower Hobby, but places like TCS or RPP has them also.

This is what I used, but there are a lot of options.

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXEWN9&P=7

TowerHobbies.com | 0120 Robinson Racing Pinion Gear 32P 12T


If you're going to go to a high power motor, you're going to need to beef up the tranny gears, lockers, and drive shafts. Check out this thread, (post #2 has a list of upgrade parts, just to give you some ideas).
http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/axial...ys-wraith.html

Also, take the time to read the "Wraith Beginners Guide".
Stburr91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 12:43 AM   #111
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 33
Default

I am going to either put a Tekin 13.5 or Pro4 3300 in my Wraith and was wondering what i can expect with both. I know the 3300 is a torque monster, but will it have a much higher top speed? Shouldn't the 13.5 still have plenty of torque or would the 3300 do things the 13.5 can't? Either of these will be paired with a MMP and run on both 2s and 3s if that matters. I do want a more than decent top end for what its worth. I appreciate any feedback.
jasons36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 06:48 AM   #112
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,882
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasons36 View Post
I am going to either put a Tekin 13.5 or Pro4 3300 in my Wraith and was wondering what i can expect with both. I know the 3300 is a torque monster, but will it have a much higher top speed? Shouldn't the 13.5 still have plenty of torque or would the 3300 do things the 13.5 can't? Either of these will be paired with a MMP and run on both 2s and 3s if that matters. I do want a more than decent top end for what its worth. I appreciate any feedback.
Post 2 basically describes that. You'll have better power and more speed. Either motor is good the Pro4 will have more torque.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 08:51 AM   #113
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 33
Default

Thanks Harley. What kind of runtime can I expect using the pro 4 3300 with a 2200 3s lipo?
jasons36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 09:08 AM   #114
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,882
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasons36 View Post
Thanks Harley. What kind of runtime can I expect using the pro 4 3300 with a 2200 3s lipo?
Just depends on your trigger finger. That's a pretty small pack for a big motor like that. Maybe 30 mins as a guess if you're not full throttle most the time.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 09:17 AM   #115
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harley View Post
Just depends on your trigger finger. That's a pretty small pack for a big motor like that. Maybe 30 mins as a guess if you're not full throttle most the time.
What size pack would you recommend?
jasons36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 09:35 AM   #116
20K Club
 
Harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sending illegals home one Hayabusa at a time.
Posts: 22,882
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasons36 View Post
What size pack would you recommend?
It is up to you really. That pack will run fine as long as your lipo is good quality with a high C rating.

I run a very large 3s 5250 pack but will probably go to a 4000 in my new chassis.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 10:02 AM   #117
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 292
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasons36 View Post
What size pack would you recommend?
I have a 4000 mah 3s battery with a Tekin 13.5 motor. If I do a mix of crawling and trail running, I can get over an hour of runtime.
Stburr91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 04:04 PM   #118
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: meriden
Posts: 341
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasons36 View Post
I am going to either put a Tekin 13.5 or Pro4 3300 in my Wraith and was wondering what i can expect with both. I know the 3300 is a torque monster, but will it have a much higher top speed? Shouldn't the 13.5 still have plenty of torque or would the 3300 do things the 13.5 can't? Either of these will be paired with a MMP and run on both 2s and 3s if that matters. I do want a more than decent top end for what its worth. I appreciate any feedback.
i just came back from my maiden voyage with the pro4 3300 and mmp 12/54 running a 2200mah 40c pack and got about 40+ MIN trail riding on a hiking trail. i have lots of crawlers and r/c and have gone thru 2 other motors till i bought the pro 4 and all i can say is ijust fell in luv with my wraith after owning it for a month and a half.if u want speed and want to crawl like a 35t motor u will be so pleased with the pro4! it is worth the cake in my opinion but i will warn u u have to upgrade the whole drive line. i blew both f/r lockers ,i had mmp drive shafts already and gave it the full robinson racing tranny gears to.also added 4ws which is great improvement to. all i can say if ur thinking about this motor dont hesitate to buy it u will be so pleased but like i said dont expect the sttock drive line to last long. good luck
ebomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 05:13 PM   #119
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Land of earthquakes
Posts: 462
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stburr91 View Post
I have a 4000 mah 3s battery with a Tekin 13.5 motor. If I do a mix of crawling and trail running, I can get over an hour of runtime.
Can i use a 2s lipo battery with the Tekin 13.5 brushless? in the Tekin webpage says 3s, but i have 2 2s lipo batteries that i want to use instead of buying new ones
Pabust is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 06:04 PM   #120
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 292
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pabust View Post
Can i use a 2s lipo battery with the Tekin 13.5 brushless? in the Tekin webpage says 3s, but i have 2 2s lipo batteries that i want to use instead of buying new ones
Yes, some guys have run them on 2s batteries, and is faster than the stock 20T motor. You would want at least a 40c battery.

Last edited by Stburr91; 11-18-2011 at 09:14 PM.
Stburr91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com