Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Motor and ESC Combo choices

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2015, 04:39 PM   #1

Default Motor and ESC Combo choices

I'm new to the rock crawling and I have two Traxxas Slashs, ones 4x4 and the other is 2wd. I am planning to build a SCX10 and I was wondering what type of motor ESC combo I should look at! Brushless or brushed? What size?
burton_riley is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-20-2015, 06:14 PM   #2

Default Re: Motor and ESC Combo choices

Hey man

Hope you're having a good day.

I am actually in the middle of trying to make the same decisions myself. I have lot's of RC's but since this is my first crawler I am also looking for advice on Motor/ESC's.

Unfortunately I don't have an answer for you but I would like to share some advice. There are many experienced people on this board who would love to help you but they would probably benefit from more info about what you are looking for in a combo.

What are your priorities: price, speed, maintenance, reliability? What kind of driving do you expect to do: Trailing, comps, underwater, bashing? Anything else you consider important? The perfect combo for someone else may not work at all for you.

I would expect the more info you provide about what you want to do with the truck, the better and faster the answer will start to roll in.

Goodluck on your search.

Star
Starlite033 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 06:19 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

Holmes Hobbies, BRXL esc and Torquemaster 35t motor. I run this setup on 3s in most of my rigs.
Duxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 06:59 PM   #4
I wanna be Dave

If you go brushless make sure it's sensored. Look at Holmes hobbies website.
snapon boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 07:32 PM   #5
Rock Crawler