Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: Spektrum DX5 Rugged

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-06-2019, 05:16 PM   #141
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 414
Default Re: Spektrum DX5 Rugged

Well... I am not too thrilled with my purchase. In fact, I want to kick whoever designed the menus and roller touchpad gizmo square in the nuts!

What a awful pain in the ass it is to get around these menus with that touch roller gizmo.

Its cool and all. But I should have purchased another flysky GT5 for 75 bucks. This is NOT worth 180 to me at all. Meh.

Just my 2 cents.
BIGW0RM is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-06-2019, 05:23 PM   #142
XXXXXXXXXXXXX
 
durok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Austin
Posts: 3,741
Default Re: Spektrum DX5 Rugged

Makes me want the FlySky Noble all the more, maybe I will actually take the time to try and waterproof it.

That'll be interesting!
durok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 05:45 PM   #143
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: England
Posts: 1,498
Default Re: Spektrum DX5 Rugged

Durok I'm loving my Noble. Just found a place thats hopefully has some of the micro rx's (FG4Rs). Ordered them and they sent a message about it being Chinese New Year and nothing posted until the 10th February. At least they have actually communicated, unlike some UK shops.
M1tch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 05:46 PM   #144
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,251
Default Re: Spektrum DX5 Rugged

I was ready to smash my Rugged against the wall with the new scrolling menu.....but now that I am used to it, I love it. Give it a chance!
bilinvic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 07:21 PM   #145
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 414
Default Re: Spektrum DX5 Rugged

Quote:
Originally Posted by bilinvic View Post
I was ready to smash my Rugged against the wall with the new scrolling menu.....but now that I am used to it, I love it. Give it a chance!

It works and has nice features. But its not woth 180 bucks IMO.

Im going right back to Flysky once this breaks.
BIGW0RM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 07:21 PM   #146
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 414
Default Re: Spektrum DX5 Rugged

Quote:
Originally Posted by M1tch View Post
Durok I'm loving my Noble. Just found a place thats hopefully has some of the micro rx's (FG4Rs). Ordered them and they sent a message about it being Chinese New Year and nothing posted until the 10th February. At least they have actually communicated, unlike some UK shops.
Why the Noble over the GT5?
BIGW0RM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 07:34 PM   #147
XXXXXXXXXXXXX
 
durok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Austin
Posts: 3,741
Default Re: Spektrum DX5 Rugged

It's seriously trick, and more features/channels are on the way (promised by FlySky) via USB update cable and more compatible receivers coming (hopefully) soon.

I don't know if you've read the reviews or watched any YouTube user reports, but I seriously am jonesing for one.

First chunk of disposable income coming my way is likely going towards one.
durok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 08:00 PM   #148
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: England
Posts: 1,498
Default Re: Spektrum DX5 Rugged

@Bigworm. I have a DX4s already and the scroller is now playing up. Also I didnt like the look of the Rugged and wanted something more compact. I'm quite careful with my gear and the Noble lives in a padded case a lot of the time. Out on the trails , I use a lanyard and rarely put it down even then on a mat or cloth. It's light, has a great easy menu and long battery life. A route I take sometimes is about 2 1/2 hours long and the internal battery is only down to around 50% by then. It would last all day or more with the base battery connected.



The Rugged did appeal to me, but watching the reviews I just felt it was an answer to a problem that doesn't exist (for me anyway).
M1tch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 08:26 PM   #149
I wanna be Dave
 
CODYBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Oakridge
Posts: 2,870
Default Re: Spektrum DX5 Rugged

Quote:
Originally Posted by M1tch View Post
Durok I'm loving my Noble. Just found a place thats hopefully has some of the micro rx's (FG4Rs). Ordered them and they sent a message about it being Chinese New Year and nothing posted until the 10th February. At least they have actually communicated, unlike some UK shops.
Hey M1tch, can you send me a link or addy to that place?
Mine should be here pretty quick.
Ernie
CODYBOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2019, 10:22 PM   #150
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 414
Default Re: Spektrum DX5 Rugged

The 200 dollar burn I felt after purchasing the rugged still stings...

And I want to carve the eyes out of the guy who designed it with a dull wooden spoon.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
BIGW0RM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 09:28 PM   #151
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 82
Default Re: Spektrum DX5 Rugged

I got one of these in a trade.

Like others, i do not like the touch scrolling wheel. Changing the name of my models was...tedious. Its not bad after you get used to it, but still takes far longer to navigate the interface and input data than my Futaba 4PLS. Setting up the steering trim and end points was also tedious. I find the interface is not as intuitive as the Futaba.

I do like the weight and the feel. The rubber trim is a nice feature.

Wish it had a backlight on the LCD... on night crawls i have never had to adjust settings on the trail and i always have a headlamp on...but its a nice feature. The ability to only run AA batteries is puzzling to me. I don't get why they didn't at least give it a plug for a NiMH or LiFE battery. Easy enough to put a plug on this and run whatever you want though. One thing i am not sure of though is what input voltage the radio can take, i cam sure it can handle a 2 cell LiFE pack but wish i could find definitive data.

Another dislike is that the aux switches are momentary push buttons. I like having a 2 or 3 position switch.



Considered selling it, but i ended up setting it up with my Kraton for bashing duty...this way i can stop exposing my Futaba to the sand . Ill keep my crawler on the 4PLS.

Last edited by Techno Duck; 02-15-2019 at 09:33 PM.
Techno Duck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 10:03 PM   #152
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 414
Default Re: Spektrum DX5 Rugged

You can change some of the switches to 3/2 or momentary.

I still hate mine. Lol.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
BIGW0RM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 09:05 PM   #153
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Tuxedo NY
Posts: 570
Default Re: Spektrum DX5 Rugged

Yeah, I’m not sure about this one, has a few weird issues...
I can’t figure out how to turn off the brake rate, or set it to another switch. I want something cool on that ‘F’ button, but if I assign it to anything else it also lowers the brake rate, which basically turns down reverse way to much, until it’s almost nothing...
The touch buttons were a pain, but I got pretty quick after a few models, lol!
And, oddly, I have to put the steering to 150% to get the same throw I was getting with regular end points on my other radio...

Last edited by Turtlejon; 02-19-2019 at 09:36 PM.
Turtlejon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2019, 04:52 AM   #154
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Calgary
Posts: 124
Default Re: Spektrum DX5 Rugged

I believe it's under rates in the menu, I went through this last week, annoying as hell, but you can reassign brake rate to another switch.
Xx Losungen xX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2019, 08:09 AM   #155
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Oakley
Posts: 297
Default Re: Spektrum DX5 Rugged

Question:

i currently have a Spektrum SRS6000 rx in my rock rey and was looking to upgrade radios. i am thinking about getting a crawler soon as well(HPI Venture or TRX4). Since i already have the spektrum RX, would it be best to buy a DX5C or DX5 Rugged which come with a 2nd reciever or go with something like a GT3C and buy two new recievers?
mass-hole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2019, 10:32 PM   #156
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: US
Posts: 251
Default Re: Spektrum DX5 Rugged

Quote:
Originally Posted by mass-hole View Post
Question:

i currently have a Spektrum SRS6000 rx in my rock rey and was looking to upgrade radios. i am thinking about getting a crawler soon as well(HPI Venture or TRX4). Since i already have the spektrum RX, would it be best to buy a DX5C or DX5 Rugged which come with a 2nd reciever or go with something like a GT3C and buy two new recievers?
IMO stick with Spektrum. Both DX5 series radios are good, personally I like the DX5C better.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
brimdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2019, 11:46 AM   #157
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Stevensville
Posts: 3,240
Default Re: Spektrum DX5 Rugged

I just brought my Rugged home, got it programmed.

The scroll function does take some getting used to, but its not horrible.

The thumb lever is too short, and I have monkey hands. I might be able to hav my buddy 3d print an extension. The A button is my old standby for my 2nd gear shift, and I cannot quite reach it comfortably. So using F. Disabled the brake rate. A is Throttle trim btw. That screwed me up for a while.

It does feel good i my hand and has a bit more heft than my old Dx4c. Overall I like it....

I will have 3 cars on it very soon.
lonleycreeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 08:26 PM   #158
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,251
Default Re: Spektrum DX5 Rugged

Anyone convert to a battery other than the 4 AAs? This controller is a power hog and goes thru double A batteries pretty quick.
bilinvic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 08:29 PM   #159
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Tuxedo NY
Posts: 570
Default Re: Spektrum DX5 Rugged

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xx Losungen xX View Post
I believe it's under rates in the menu, I went through this last week, annoying as hell, but you can reassign brake rate to another switch.
Perfect! Thanks!!!
Turtlejon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 08:35 PM   #160
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 414
Default Re: Spektrum DX5 Rugged

Quote:
Originally Posted by bilinvic View Post
Anyone convert to a battery other than the 4 AAs? This controller is a power hog and goes thru double A batteries pretty quick.


Try rechargeable ones. I get what feels like triple the time.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
BIGW0RM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dx5, radio, rugged, spektrum, transmitter



Spektrum DX5 Rugged - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEW Spektrum DX5 Pro In Stock!! RPP Hobby RPP Hobby 2 07-30-2018 09:12 AM
dx5 or dx6? rockin86runner Electronics 7 11-30-2011 11:06 AM
Spektrum DX5 Kanine38 Electronics 1 09-07-2010 05:12 AM
dx5 or dx6? dirtman Electronics 10 03-12-2009 11:40 AM
new spektrum dx5, with traxxas xl-5 esc, motor? drnedatsnov Electronics 2 01-31-2009 03:48 PM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com