Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Like Tree374Likes

Thread: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2013, 11:48 PM   #2661
Got Worms?
 
losikid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,082
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by tazman View Post
Will be getting my radio this week. I was wondering, does anyone make skins for the GT3B? It would be cool to have one in overkillrc colors.
VERY VERY soon...i should be getting afew sample gt3b and gt3c skins here soon then i can start taking orders
JokersWild, tazman and DRTMI like this.
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-21-2013, 10:31 AM   #2662
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: carson city
Posts: 530
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by losikid View Post
VERY VERY soon...i should be getting afew sample gt3b and gt3c skins here soon then i can start taking orders
I have both radios would love a skin for both.





You should see what I can do with wire!
Werty Made is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 05:58 PM   #2663
Sly
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 34
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Hello guys,

I have just tried my hacked GT3B on a Berg, with dual esc (Micro Sidewinder Pro). I use this setup: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

It works great, but I have a problem with drag brake.
When both ESC works together, I have dragbrake on the two ESC.
When I use the dig on one ESC (front or rear), the stopped ESC dont have any dragbrake.

Any ideo of the problem ?
Thanks
Sly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 08:11 PM   #2664
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: 07456 N. NJ USofA
Posts: 8,334
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sly View Post
Hello guys,

I have just tried my hacked GT3B on a Berg, with dual esc (Micro Sidewinder Pro). I use this setup: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

It works great, but I have a problem with drag brake.
When both ESC works together, I have dragbrake on the two ESC.
When I use the dig on one ESC (front or rear), the stopped ESC dont have any dragbrake.

Any ideo of the problem ?
Thanks
You linked the whole thread, not a specific "dual ESC template". There are a few templates to use.

1-What firmware is in your radio?
2-Are you running a "momentary" or "locked" dual ESC template?

I'm running a "locked" dual ESC template on the same ESC's you have, I'm on firmware 0.4.1.

I also used to run the momentary dual ESC template.

Make sure you have the ESC's calibrated to the RX.
With the Castle ESC's, if all is set correctly (with decent motors) you should have plenty of brake.

I believe I'm running CC firmware 128 (?) it's an older one with good drag brake.
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 10:04 PM   #2665
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Kittanning
Posts: 181
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Ok so i just got back into crawling.. and i cant seem to set up my winch on 3rd chan... if someone can give me step by step that would be great...

also im running heyok controller, with the intgey lime green winch lol..
Zeks05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 03:03 AM   #2666
Sly
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 34
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie-III View Post
You linked the whole thread, not a specific "dual ESC template". There are a few templates to use.

1-What firmware is in your radio?
2-Are you running a "momentary" or "locked" dual ESC template?

I'm running a "locked" dual ESC template on the same ESC's you have, I'm on firmware 0.4.1.

I also used to run the momentary dual ESC template.

Make sure you have the ESC's calibrated to the RX.
With the Castle ESC's, if all is set correctly (with decent motors) you should have plenty of brake.

I believe I'm running CC firmware 128 (?) it's an older one with good drag brake.
Thanks for your help Charlie-III.

I'm running 0.6.1 firmware.
The template I use is this one: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread with Dual/Rate button for the dig, and Ch3 trim for mix, with momentary dig.
My motors are decent... (matched Team Brood 35T) and ESC are set corectly (I think). When I use both ESC at the same time, or only one ESC on CH2 receiver plug, I have a very powerfull drag brake. So I don't understand why I lost the drag brag when using the dig button. Looks really strange to me.
Sly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 05:13 AM   #2667
Got Worms?
 
losikid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,082
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Try calibrating your radio and turning the deadband up on your esc's
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 05:14 AM   #2668
Got Worms?
 
losikid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,082
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeks05 View Post
Ok so i just got back into crawling.. and i cant seem to set up my winch on 3rd chan... if someone can give me step by step that would be great...

also im running heyok controller, with the intgey lime green winch lol..
http://www.overkillrc.com/GT3X-Firmw...lp%20cards.pdf
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 10:45 AM   #2669
Sly
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 34
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by losikid View Post
Try calibrating your radio and turning the deadband up on your esc's
Thanks a lot Losikid.
I calibrate the radio, and now I have dragbrake all the time.

Thanks everybody for your help. I'm ready for next week crawler compétition...
Sly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 08:27 AM   #2670
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 803
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Do you offer replacements for the tigger on a GT3B? I let my 7yr old daugter us my radio the otherday, and she mannaged to brake mine somehow.
msd44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 09:47 PM   #2671
ahhh S^*T
 
AxialJeepster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: in the shop bending metal in Whatcom Co. WA.
Posts: 896
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

cant get that link to work. I need the same fix for my winch. I have the 6 channel FW.

lights and winch are on ch3 together now but I assume I will have to chage that. run lights from bec and hook winch controller to ch3. I just need the ch3 button to be 3 pos.
AxialJeepster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 11:39 PM   #2672
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 373
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by msd44 View Post
Do you offer replacements for the tigger on a GT3B? I let my 7yr old daugter us my radio the otherday, and she mannaged to brake mine somehow.
Here ya go buddy! Trigger Button for Flysky Controller FS GT3B GT3B | eBay

I forget where I saw this posted. (might have been in here)
Spidernad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 03:37 PM   #2673
Got Worms?
 
losikid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,082
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Hack kit back-orders are going out monday...
Attached Images
 
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 03:49 PM   #2674
Got Worms?
 
losikid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,082
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by AxialJeepster View Post
cant get that link to work. I need the same fix for my winch. I have the 6 channel FW.

lights and winch are on ch3 together now but I assume I will have to chage that. run lights from bec and hook winch controller to ch3. I just need the ch3 button to be 3 pos.
What is your question?
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 09:11 PM   #2675
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 373
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spidernad View Post
Anyone seen this problem? After I turn on the GT3B transmitter, after a short time the back light goes out, you can still see the lcd readout but it is frozen on whatever was the last screen you were in. The buttons do nothing, and turning it off is the only way to un-freeze it. If I turn it back on it does the same thing but even quicker. If I let it sit (cool down) for a while it will come on again but start the whole issue all over again. Help! lol

It has been upgraded to the 6.1 firmware.
Well this problem is back again on another one of my radios and it's making nuts.

I can explain much more in a video than try to type it all up so here is the video below.

Anyone had this issue before?

Spidernad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 09:26 PM   #2676
Got Worms?
 
losikid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,082
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

How many models are you running in the firmware?
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 09:32 PM   #2677
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 373
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by losikid View Post
How many models are you running in the firmware?
Just one.
Spidernad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 12:00 PM   #2678
Got Worms?
 
losikid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,082
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

I'm honestly not sure what the issue is, i could guess all day long but thats just guessing. Whats odd, is that its done it to more then one radio(did you buy them at the same time?)


You said they have the new vr (the one i sell)?
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 03:10 PM   #2679
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 373
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by losikid View Post
I'm honestly not sure what the issue is, i could guess all day long but thats just guessing. Whats odd, is that its done it to more then one radio(did you buy them at the same time?)


You said they have the new vr (the one i sell)?
I was just wondering if anyone had seen this problem and found the cause.

This radio still has the stock regulator. When I had this same problem on one of my other radios, I replaced the voltage regulator (with the one you sell) and it had no effect on the problem, so I ruled that out and have not changed it on this radio so I can first find the actual cause.

I have 6 of these radios and I didn't keep a log of which ones were bought when. I know I got 4 (including the "problem" radios) from Hobby Partz.

All my radios have the metal shield inside.

Thanks for you reply.
Spidernad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 03:13 AM   #2680
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 373
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spidernad View Post
Well this problem is back again on another one of my radios and it's making nuts.

I can explain much more in a video than try to type it all up so here is the video below.

Anyone had this issue before?
**Problem Solved!**
***EDIT*** This did not solve the problem, it's back again.

So I put on my magnifying glasses and took a good look at all the solder joints on the board.
Everything seemed to be connected so I looked for the worst looking joints I could find and figured I would just start there and try to re-solder one joint at a time, turning on the radio after each one to see if the problem went away before moving on to the next one so I could rule out each joint as a problem.

I tried a few where the long row of pins from the LCD goes into the board, with no luck.
Then I remembered that if a resistor is not making a connection, depending on which one, sometimes a circuit will still power up but eventually shut down. (exactly like this radio is doing)

So I moved to the resistors and started with one that the solder wasn't filling the hole in the board and re-soldered it.
Luckily the first one was the culprit and the radio powered up and does not shut down after a couple minutes any more!

I re-flashed it back to the v.0.6.1 firmware and it seems to be a go. : )







Last edited by Spidernad; 05-01-2013 at 05:29 PM.
Spidernad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/electronics/321742-gt3b-hack-question-answer-thread.html
Posted By For Type Date
RoboSavvy Forum :: View topic - SAM-3 Servo teardown This thread Refback 03-05-2013 01:49 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com