Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2015, 01:49 PM   #3981
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Rochester
Posts: 3
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Been there done that, talks nothing about performance or AFHDS vs AFHDS2.
RCCrackHead is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-17-2015, 01:53 PM   #3982
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,116
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCCrackHead View Post
Been there done that, talks nothing about performance or AFHDS vs AFHDS2.
Is a $40 radio with absolutely no potential beyond stock.

And why are you asking about AFHDS2, NONE of the radios you mentioned is using AFHDS2
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 02:17 PM   #3983
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Rochester
Posts: 3
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

It shows that it comes with the FS-A3 receiver that should operate on 2.4GHz AFHDS2A signal.
RCCrackHead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 02:26 PM   #3984
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,116
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

The box and description says AFHDS...This isn't a flysky branded tx/rx. Dimension can give this stuff whatever name they want.
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 02:35 PM   #3985
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: JAPAN
Posts: 60
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

I got a request. Can we stop talking about radio that are not GT3B. With over 200 pages now the thread is getting harder to keep up with. This thread is the only thread I look at when comes to anything about my GT3B. I love and want to thank all the hard work put into the GT3B. Thanks Greg
claycity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 12:19 AM   #3986
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 100
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Just through my order in for a GT3B firmware kit. Then realized I have the GT3C... Will I be able to make it work with some direct soldering or buy using a few header pins I have laying around?
Savagethrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 12:31 AM   #3987
I wanna be Dave
 
CODYBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Oakridge
Posts: 3,305
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

I just hacked mine with a two year old kit. Or I should say my wife did. I was having problems with the links up loading right and asked her to help. I had everything hooked up to my gt3c and computer and went out to the shop, leaving all the directions by the computer. Next thing I know she comes out and says the red light is flashing on the board, you need to do the rest!!!!
So yes it will work.
CODYBOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 02:16 AM   #3988
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 100
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by CODYBOY View Post
I just hacked mine with a two year old kit. Or I should say my wife did. I was having problems with the links up loading right and asked her to help. I had everything hooked up to my gt3c and computer and went out to the shop, leaving all the directions by the computer. Next thing I know she comes out and says the red light is flashing on the board, you need to do the rest!!!!
So yes it will work.
Wonderful! Thank you!
Savagethrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 01:30 PM   #3989
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,116
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Savagethrash View Post
Just through my order in for a GT3B firmware kit. Then realized I have the GT3C... Will I be able to make it work with some direct soldering or buy using a few header pins I have laying around?
They are the same programming just different headers.

Do you want me to change your order to a gt3c kit?
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 05:58 PM   #3990
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 100
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by losikid View Post
They are the same programming just different headers.

Do you want me to change your order to a gt3c kit?
If you could that would be great. I don't know how difficult it is to ghetto fab up what I'll need to flash it with the B. I have 2 radios to do, this way I'll only have one radio that requires a little extra work. I'll PM you my order number.

Can't PM, the order number is OK-1536

Stoked to unlock these radios and throw some holmes BR minis in the rig

Last edited by Savagethrash; 04-21-2015 at 06:00 PM.
Savagethrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 06:30 PM   #3991
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,116
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Savagethrash View Post
If you could that would be great. I don't know how difficult it is to ghetto fab up what I'll need to flash it with the B. I have 2 radios to do, this way I'll only have one radio that requires a little extra work. I'll PM you my order number.

Can't PM, the order number is OK-1536

Stoked to unlock these radios and throw some holmes BR minis in the rig
fixed, and I'll include a second gt3c header...
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 10:57 PM   #3992
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 100
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by losikid View Post
fixed, and I'll include a second gt3c header...
Feel free to pm me your PayPal, appreciated.
Savagethrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2015, 03:02 PM   #3993
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,116
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Savagethrash View Post
Feel free to pm me your PayPal, appreciated.
Don't worry about it
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2015, 09:15 PM   #3994
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 98
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

I've had my radio for only a month now but it doesn't seem to be working properly to me. I was trying to use the exponential function today however it didn't seem to work properly. It acted more as a trim function rather than exponential. When I adjusted the expo, the vechile would start moving forward without me touching the throttle, or if I adjusted it the other way it would go in reverse as though I were adjusting the sub trim. I don't have this prohlem on my futaba radio. Anyone else have problems with the expo funtion? I wanted to soften my thottle but expo doesn't work.
Sapes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2015, 09:46 PM   #3995
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Williston, ND
Posts: 109
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Just wanted to post up my thanks to losikid for all his work. I've used your tutorials (and your troubleshooting posts in this thread) to hack 2 radios for myself. Running 6 channels on my scalers. Whenever someone asks where they can get a radio I refer them to overkillrc.com. Don't think anyone has followed through yet though, since I seem to be one of the only RC guys here locally that is really interested in the electronics part of RC.
Brainanator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2015, 09:59 PM   #3996
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,116
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sapes View Post
I've had my radio for only a month now but it doesn't seem to be working properly to me. I was trying to use the exponential function today however it didn't seem to work properly. It acted more as a trim function rather than exponential. When I adjusted the expo, the vechile would start moving forward without me touching the throttle, or if I adjusted it the other way it would go in reverse as though I were adjusting the sub trim. I don't have this prohlem on my futaba radio. Anyone else have problems with the expo funtion? I wanted to soften my thottle but expo doesn't work.
I don't have this issue.

Make sure your radio is calibrated (turn steering wheel max clockwise then enter-LONG to enter the calibration menu)

Also, are you using any trim?
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2015, 09:51 AM   #3997
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey shore
Posts: 1,482
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

finally hacked mine. 3ch doesnt work at all. any idea why?

reading is this very long thread. i never Calibrated the radio after I hacked it. going to start there

Last edited by m1009cucv; 04-23-2015 at 10:15 AM.
m1009cucv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2015, 06:04 PM   #3998
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,116
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by m1009cucv View Post
finally hacked mine. 3ch doesnt work at all. any idea why?

reading is this very long thread. i never Calibrated the radio after I hacked it. going to start there
You have to map channel 3 to switch in the key mapping menu
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 01:25 PM   #3999
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey shore
Posts: 1,482
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

I kinda suck with electronics. Whats that mean in English haha
m1009cucv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 02:15 PM   #4000
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,116
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Its the heart and soul of utilizing all the channels on the GT3B/GT3C

Directly from the manual
Code:
- Key mapping specific for each model:
    > choose menu REV and press ENTER-long
    > menu REV will blink
    > choose trims (id: 1 2 3 d) or other keys (CH3: C, Back: b, End: E) or
        if trim is OFF, then also trim keys (id 1 2 3 d with left/right arrow)
    > press ENTER and modify first setting
    > press ENTER and modify next setting
    > ....
    -----
    steps of settings of trims (1 2 3 and D/R):
	- sequence:
	  function -> buttons -> step -> reverse -> opposite_reset -> previous_val -> rotate
	- function: selected function listed at the end of manual
	- B buttons:
	    MO - momentary, hold left/right trim key to get end values,
		 when nothing pressed, servo is at center
	    NL - no long keys, long press is the same as short press
	    AR - autorepeat is on
	    RS - long press of one of trim keys will reset to
		 centre/reset value
	    EN - long press of trim key will set to coresponding end value
	- step: select trim step for one trim key press (1, 2, ... 100, 200),
		not available when buttons MO or fuction is list of items (multi-position)
		is identified by symbol "V"
	- RE reverse:
	    0 - no change
	    1 - swap left/right trim keys
	- OR opposite_reset: not available when buttons MO
	    0 - no change
	    1 - when trim key is pressed and value is at opposite
		side of center/reset, set value to centre/reset,
	- PV previous_val: available only when buttons MO or fuction is list of
			   items (multi-position)
	    0 - no change
	    1 - instead of setting value to centre/reset when key is released,
		it is set to previous value, which was active before key press
	- RO rotate: available only if fuction is list of items (multi-position)
	    0 - no rotate
	    1 - rotate from max item to first item and back
    -----
    steps of setting of keys (C b E 1< 1> 2< 2> 3< 3> d< d>):
	- sequence:
	  function -> momentary -> reverse -> prev_val -> function_long -> reverse_long -> prev_val_long
	- function: selected function listed at the end of manual
	- MO momentary: only available for 2-state functions (channel, ...)
	    0 - switch, key press will switch something (channel value, ...)
	    1 - momentary, value change will be active only while key is pressed
	- RE reverse: only available for 2-state functions
	    0 - normal, no-press or default value is left endpoint
	    1 - reverse, no-press or default value is right endpoint
	- PV prev_val: only available for 2-state functions
	    0 - key release or OFF state sets value to left endpoint (noREV)
	    1 - key release or OFF state sets value to value active before
		  key press or ON state
	- function_long: function applied when long press of key happens,
	                 choose from the same list as function,
			 identified by "V" symbol
	- reverse_long: same as "reverse" + "V" symbol
	- prev_val_long: same as "prev_val" + "V" symbol
    -----

Functions assignable to trims:
==============================
OFF		- nothing, it is possible to assign each button individualy
		  as key
TR1, TR2	- trim of channel 1/2
DRS, DRF, DRB	- dualrate of steering/forward/back
EXS, EXF, EXB	- expo of steering/forward/back
CHn		- change channel "n" value in range -100...100
STn		- subtrim of channel "n"
SST		- steering speed turn 1...100%
SSR		- steering speed return 1...100%
CSn		- channel speed for channel "n" 1...100%
4WS		- 4 wheel steering mix -100...100%
DIG		- DIG throttle mix -100...100%
MP1		- Multi-Position 1, switches position up/down
MP2		- Multi-Position 2, switches position up/down
MP3		- Multi-Position 3, switches position up/down
MP4		- Multi-Position 4, switches position up/down



Functions assignable to keys:
=============================
OFF		- nothing
CHn		- switch channel "n" value from one end value to opposite end
		  value. There is special handling for CH3 button. When using
		  3-position switch instead of CH3 button and momentary is
		  selected for this button, then centre 3-pos value will also
		  be detected and set to servo (use 1K resistor to GND to get
		  middle state)
CnR		- reset value of channel "n" to centre
4WS		- switch crab (CRB) no-crab (NOC) for 4 wheel steering
DIG		- switch DIG mix between -100 and 100 (more useable when using
		  return to previous val key setting)
DGR		- reset DIG mix to centre
MP1		- Multi-Position 1, switches position up (at END back to 1.)
MR1		- Multi-Position 1 Reset, switches position to first one
MP2		- Multi-Position 2, switches position up (at END back to 1.)
MR2		- Multi-Position 2 Reset, switches position to first one
MP3		- Multi-Position 3, switches position up (at END back to 1.)
MR3		- Multi-Position 3 Reset, switches position to first one
MP4		- Multi-Position 4, switches position up (at END back to 1.)
MR4		- Multi-Position 4 Reset, switches position to first one
T1S		- start/pause timer1
T1R		- stop + reset timer1
T2S		- start/pause timer2
T2R		- stop + reset timer2
BRK		- switch on full brake, this overrides throttle position
BLS		- battery low shutup, stop beeping, predefined to END-long

Also take a look at this link

http://overkillrc.com/GT3X-Firmware/...lp%20cards.pdf
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/electronics/321742-gt3b-hack-question-answer-thread.html
Posted By For Type Date
RoboSavvy Forum :: View topic - SAM-3 Servo teardown This thread Refback 03-05-2013 01:49 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com