Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2012, 09:43 PM   #1281
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: 07456 N. NJ USofA
Posts: 8,314
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by losikid View Post
What's giving you issues?
Dig does not seem to be working correctly, rear motor does not run except....almost full throttle the rear motor takes off. Regardless of what I do with dig, either the front works (fwd & rev) or neither works.

I will likely test the ESC with the 3PM-x so I can see if that is working. Too many unknown variables at this point.

Question, the dig (ch3 trim button), can you lock it to +100% & -100%? It sorta seems you can by pressing the switch in, seems inconsistent though. I really don't want to hold it to either end.
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-03-2012, 09:51 PM   #1282
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,116
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie-III View Post
Dig does not seem to be working correctly, rear motor does not run except....almost full throttle the rear motor takes off. Regardless of what I do with dig, either the front works (fwd & rev) or neither works.

I will likely test the ESC with the 3PM-x so I can see if that is working. Too many unknown variables at this point.

Question, the dig (ch3 trim button), can you lock it to +100% & -100%? It sorta seems you can by pressing the switch in, seems inconsistent though. I really don't want to hold it to either end.
Make sure your assigning the function to ch3 and not dig

Use NOL instead of MOM to "lock" into position
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 11:33 AM   #1283
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tooele
Posts: 25
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Is there a way to unbind a receiver? I accidently bound 2 trucks on the same model..... Now it is creating problems with both trucks being on, they both move at the same time....
Skibum173 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 01:25 PM   #1284
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,348
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skibum173 View Post
Is there a way to unbind a receiver? I accidently bound 2 trucks on the same model..... Now it is creating problems with both trucks being on, they both move at the same time....
Bind it to a new transmitter or don't run both trucks at the same time
spoo76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 01:34 PM   #1285
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Fresno
Posts: 165
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Ok, so I bought 2 of these a while back and set mine up for my M2 esc, no problems there. The other (daughters') was originally set up for 4ws and it worked fine. I just deleted the 4ws and added a rc4wd dig switch and can't seem to get it set right. I have reset the model memory a few times and tried several different things...no dice.

In forward it has both motors spinning up until about 10% throttle, then with more throttle the rear drops off and only the front works. In reverse, only the rear axle spins.... show me how stupid I am am and show me a template so I can see what I am doing wrong....

I have the esc motor outs to the dig in, then the motor outs to the mtors. I have the esc in pos. 2, and the dig into ch. 3.... is that right?

Ok, confirmed the wiring via website instructions.... It's the controller I am not programming correctly.

Last edited by Sydwall85; 03-04-2012 at 01:40 PM.
Sydwall85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 06:34 PM   #1286
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Spring Texas
Posts: 209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie-III View Post
What was the issue?

I'm guessing the RX ground or an external BEC?
See post 1267


---
I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?j2eemy
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 06:57 PM   #1287
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: 07456 N. NJ USofA
Posts: 8,314
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Francois View Post
See post 1267


---
I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?j2eemy
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
post 1267 states you have an issue....post 1273 states you "fixed" a glitch, but not how......
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 09:40 PM   #1288
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: 07456 N. NJ USofA
Posts: 8,314
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

OK.....did some playing today (nice weather outside....had a lot of stuff to do...).....

I ran through the programming again (I believe I'm on firmware 0.4.1):

Dual ESC Mixing Template: (0.3.2 and 0.4.0 fw's)

Ch3 trim-Momentary 3 postion dig
D/R-Bias with 20% step rate
  • Turn radio on
  • press enter
  • scroll till E. Points highlighted
  • Press and hold enter for 1.5 seconds
  • E. point should now be blinking
  • scroll so "d" is blinking (far left)
  • press enter
  • scroll till 3 is blinking
  • press enter
  • make sure 0 is blinking, if not scroll so it is
  • Press and hold enter for 1 second
  • Scroll so REV is highlighted
  • Press and hold enter for 1.5 seconds
  • Rev should now be blinking
  • Scroll so 3 is blinking
  • press enter
  • Scroll so DIG is blinking
  • press enter
  • scroll to MOM
  • press enter
  • Scroll so NOR is blinking
  • press enter
  • scroll so PRV is blinking
  • press enter
  • scroll so d is blinking
  • press enter
  • scroll to DIG
  • press enter
  • scroll so RES is blinking
  • press enter
  • scroll to 20
  • press enter
  • scroll so NOR is blinking
  • press enter
  • scroll so N00 is Blinking
  • press enter
  • press and hold enter for 1.5 seconds
  • press end

Plug front into CH2
Plug rear into CH3

Plug your battery in, and calibrate your esc's

I get past "dig", then into "NOL" and it then goes to %, not a spot I can select "NOR". I set it to 100% (not sure if this is correct) then enter, then "NOR", enter, then I get either "NOO" or "ORS", not "PRV".

Eh....went back to what you posted as a template.
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 11:02 PM   #1289
Got Worms?
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 6,116
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

charlie....looky here

http://www.overkillrc.com/GT3B-Firmw...NUAL-0.4.1.txt
losikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 02:38 PM   #1290
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tooele
Posts: 25
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

What lipo is everyone using in their Radios? I want to mod mine without removing the battery tray.
Skibum173 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 06:02 PM   #1291
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: 07456 N. NJ USofA
Posts: 8,314
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by losikid View Post
Looked & printed today....thanks.
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 09:17 PM   #1292
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: martinsburg
Posts: 19
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Great Hack just did this hack to my transmitter ;) I was wondering how would one make a winch operate on 3rd channel on transmitter like forward stop then backwards any help would be great ~
rockcrawlerfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 09:06 AM   #1293
Tire&Foam Extraordinaire
 
Nova's Ark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: C.I. Compound, Tyler, Texas
Posts: 5,601
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skibum173 View Post
What lipo is everyone using in their Radios? I want to mod mine without removing the battery tray.
I am using these in my GT3B's:
Sky Lipo 1600mAh 7.4V 40C

They are 2S, 40C, 1600Mah Sky Lipos. They fit in the standard battery compartment with no modification. I have not yet drained any battery dead. They seem to last forever. I bought my radio's from Overkill RC already modified with the full treatment.
Nova's Ark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 09:24 AM   #1294
Tire&Foam Extraordinaire
 
Nova's Ark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: C.I. Compound, Tyler, Texas
Posts: 5,601
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by losikid View Post
Glad you like them

Better than using a 3r and wantamix?
I really like them. I am thinking I want to get 2 more from you and sell all my Spektrum components off. I like the fit and feel of the Spektrum DX3R over the GT3B. I also like the Spektrum DX3R programing interface a little better, it's seems easier to understand for me. But I also have years of experience with only Spektrum radios in both twin sticks and pistol grip controllers. But with your help, and all the support you have given and posted, the GT3B's have done everything I have asked of them and more.

One thing I do like with the GT3B, that the Spektrum & wantamix won't do, is the momentary dig. It's only in dig when you hold the button in dig. So you can go in and out of dig much faster. (It's not an on & off switch you have to press, it's a toggle you press/hold forward (front dig) or backward (rear dig), center is 4x4. If your driving style is fast paced, it seems to benefit that style of driving.

The GT3B RX's are much cheaper, much smaller, and because the GT3B can do the mixing, you save weight by not having to run a wantamix in the truck. I'm sold on these radio's and your products Austin. Keep up the great work and thank you for making great products affordable.
Nova's Ark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 12:53 PM   #1295
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: four o six
Posts: 2,101
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skibum173 View Post
Is there a way to unbind a receiver? I accidently bound 2 trucks on the same model..... Now it is creating problems with both trucks being on, they both move at the same time....
I have three bound to three different trucks and three different models....stash,F250, and Scout...I can run any truck with any model on the radio...either bind it to another radio or keep the truck your not running turned off.

It is a challenge running all three at the same time...one runs in reverse...the other one turns in a different direction.



I have a maxamps 2s 2100mAh....ran the other weekend for 4+hours...only went down to 8.2 V.
squatch71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 08:00 PM   #1296
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: 07456 N. NJ USofA
Posts: 8,314
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by squatch71 View Post
I have three bound to three different trucks and three different models....slash, F250 and Scout...I can run any truck with any model on the radio...either bind it to another radio or keep the truck you're not running turned off.

It is a challenge running all three at the same time...one runs in reverse...the other one turns in a different direction.



I have a maxamps 2s 2100mAh....ran the other weekend for 4+hours...only went down to 8.2 V.
HoooRAH.....demolition derby with 3 vehicles but only one driver (sorta....)....

OK, back OT......need to swap RX's to see if it's the frikkin M2... (likely.....sigh).
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 10:08 PM   #1297
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: four o six
Posts: 2,101
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

DIDN'T EVEN THINK OF THAT!!!!! sweet!!!

hope you get yours figured out man....pisser when things just dont work...and they should.
squatch71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 01:21 AM   #1298
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 136
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Okay so I'm kinda stupid today, and my search skills have failed me. Are there specific instructions someone could link me to for dig setup from this lovely thread?

AX10, stock AE-2 ESC, VP Hurtz 3 position shifter dig.... thanks

EDIT: Would I be right to assume this post's instructions should work for me?

GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Last edited by AgentXTC; 03-07-2012 at 08:52 AM.
AgentXTC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 01:46 AM   #1299
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 428
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Is there a back-order on the radios? I'm still waiting for an order update. I sent an email early this morning but, no reply yet.

Not a call out, just want info on my order.

Order #336

Aloha, Russ
RusT808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 05:07 AM   #1300
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: martinsburg
Posts: 19
Default Re: GT3B Hack Question and Answer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockcrawlerfx View Post
Great Hack just did this hack to my transmitter ;) I was wondering how would one make a winch operate on 3rd channel on transmitter like forward stop then backwards any help would be great ~
I figured it out so don't worry about answering this post
rockcrawlerfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/electronics/321742-gt3b-hack-question-answer-thread.html
Posted By For Type Date
RoboSavvy Forum :: View topic - SAM-3 Servo teardown This thread Refback 03-05-2013 01:49 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com